Intuitional Tarot

I learned Tarot the hard way.

I bought a deck and I bought many books.  I poured over the meanings and used other people’s interpretations of the cards for my readings.  To begin with I would use Joan Bunning’s excellent ‘Learn Tarot’ book and go through the meaning of a particular card until I found one that just ‘fit’.  That was as daring as I was prepared to go with my intuition.  I was worried about letting things flow and getting it wrong.

Now many years later I realise that I made it a lot harder than it could have been.  There’s nothing wrong with the way I taught myself and if that works for you then great 🙂  But the cards should be a tool to get in touch with your subconscious and a means to find the subtle answers of life.  Once you trust your intuition and let yourself meld with the images on the cards then you can gain insight that no book can ever teach you.

As a beginner I believed that the cards had certain meanings attached to them and I used them instead of any pictorial representation that the card may have.  As I developed my skills I forgot about the traditional meanings and, instead, used the images of the cards.  When I read the Tarot it is not limited to set number of keywords.  Each time I look at the image on a card my intuition pulls new insights into focus and the reading is a unique experience.

I’ve been pondering some time over the best way to teach Tarot.  I’ve taught the traditional way i.e. the majors, the minors and spreads but it’s always felt like I’m not unlocking the full potential of my students.  I believe that to become a good Tarot reader you need to unlock your intuition and trust in what you do. And I think I’ve found an excellent way to do so.

I’m not fully ready to reveal what I have planned (I’m about a fifth of the way there) but I’ll keep you posted!

Blessings

Lyn

Leave a Reply

