Card meanings

Good Afternoon all,

Lyn and I are currently recovering from our first week of holiday.  We spent some time in London and Glastonbury.  It was hard to return to the day to day routine, though now that I am here I am glad to be at it…lol 

I have received many emails asking which book contains the best meanings for the Tarot cards.  The answer that I usually respond with is quite nontraditional.  Because this is becoming a frequently asked question, I thought perhaps I would write about it a bit here.

In my opinion finding the meaning of the cards ( in any Tarot deck from Rider Waite to the hundreds of modernised ones) is as sacred as finding the deck that responds the best with your individual subconscious.  To accept the meanings of any one person is to limit the expression of your inner self (not all who read are of a magickal order or tradition…so why should we expect the interpretations of these scholars to be the same as everyone elses?).  It is true that your subconscious can learn to speak through the words of others, but how much more edifying it is to allow it to speak through its own.  I have come to this conclusion after years of studying more books, lists, and methodologies for interpretation than I care to remember.  Each one has my respect because each one was well constructed and workable based upon its own principles.  However, none of the authors ever have or ever will  experience the world in the exact same manner as myself.  This means that their words are just that “their words”.  For one to extract all the wonderful information that the Tarot can offer, s/he must name her/his own cards.  Only then will they begin to open doors into the celestial realms.

Do I then discourage the reading of Tarot books.  Not at all!  Read every blessed one that you can lay your hands on.  Experience the world through the eyes of the various authors and if you should find a meaning that speaks to you intertwine it with yours.  Never, however, allow it to become yours fully.  For if you allow it, your subconscious mind will blend the meanings into a rich cocktail that will allow a brilliant expression unique to the world.  And at the end of the day that is exactly what the world needs “unique individuals that can help it to see yet another brilliant aspect of life”.

So when you purchase a deck, name all of your cards first.  Then later on read books.  Mix and match and enjoy the power of being and learning as you become more enlightened using the Tarot as a tool.

Namaste

Paul

Loving it!

I loved my camping trip so much so Paul and I spent Monday buying our own camping gear then travelled to Somerset to camp on our own for a few days. I enjoyed being out there in nature and being away from the pressures of urban living.

Our timing was wonderful – we wanted to go to Glastonbury and even though it is the busy season we were blessed to find a campsite with space for us.  What made it even more magical was that it was only a few fields away from Glastonbury Tor.

Climbing the Tor was hard work (note to self – must be fitter next time) but was well worth it once at the top.  The views of the countryside are outstanding and the energy of the Tor itself is spiritual and captivating.

Glastonbury town was a place I just fell in love with.  It was full of spiritual shops and bookstores.  I found a pre-owned Tarot deck – the Symbolon Tarot deck – which is now at home in my ever growing collection.

I had a wonderful week and just can’t wait to go back and do it all again.

Blessings

Lyn

Catching up…

Paul and I went away last week (hence lack of blog).

We went camping with friends first at the weekend. We stayed on a working farm in West Sussex. It was my first time camping and I completely caught the camping bug!

We spent Monday purchasing our own camping equipment. Then Tuesday we spent the day in London browsing our favourite bookshops and getting caught up in the bustle of the Capital.

For the remainder of the week, Paul and I travelled to Somerset and stayed in a campsite in Glastonbury. We were only a few fields (and a very big hill) away from Glastonbury Tor. We loved it!

Glastonbury itself was a town we just felt at home in. Book shops, magickal shops and a brilliant atmostphere! I found a second hand Tarot deck – the Symbolon deck – in one of the book shops.

Symbolon Tarot

I’ll post some photos soon!

Blessings

Lyn