Why should I pay a Reader

Hello all,

While sitting with my son in the A&E wing of the hospital, I was looking back and considering what various people have said and this topic came to mind. 

Along the mystical path that I walk, I have encountered many points of view.  Some of them are enlightened and blessings to hear while others are not so.  One that always makes me a bit sad is the one that insists that readers and healers should give their skills absolutely free.  The reasoning goes that the gifts come from the Divine freely and so they should be given freely. 

In a world where money is not needed in order to survive, I would have to agree (though I would not limit it to healers and readers).  I would say that everyone should give all their skills freely.  In that manner everyone would benefit from everyone.  There would be no worries about food, lodgings, medical care, etc.  However, this is not the idealistic world that we live in.  Healers and Readers have the same need to support their families as doctors, lawyers, and builders.  Strangely, we would not expect these professions to perform their services for free.  Do we have these high expectations for these professions because we acknowledge them as enlightened?  Yet, at the end of the day, even enlightened people must eat and pay bills.

Don’t misunderstand what I have said above.  I think that all professions have a duty to their fellow man and the Earth, and with that duty they should do a fair amount of charity work.  But, readers and healers have the same demands as all other professions on their lives, so why should more be expected of them?

To a person that has a good heart I would suggest this.  If you truly do not have the money to pay a healer or reader, offer them a useful service that will benefit them in return for their craft.  Most healers and readers I know will not turn down a fair trade of services. 

Namaste,

Paul

2 Responses

  1. I like the new layout! 🙂

    As a tarot reader who reads professionally, that is, I charge money for my readings, of course I would agree. I think tarot is often seen as a game, a frivolity, not to be taken seriously. And yet, even if viewed in that way, because I see nothing inherently wrong with taking a lighter view of tarot reading, it is still providing entertainment. One expects to pay a fee to play a game in the public arena, say at a carnival or fair. The reader is giving you something in return for your money, be it entertainment or enlightenment. When one books entertainment at a social event, such as a juggler, a musician, or a tarot reader, that entertainer is paid for their time and effort.

    If we make comparisons to other healers, we may run into some sticky areas. Tarot reading has a long historical tradition of the practicioner being self-taught and enhanced by natural giftedness. While there are organizations that can certify tarot readers, the skill and value of a tarot reader’s abilities are difficult to measure as they are very subjective. I would sooner compare the abilities of a tarot reader to that of an artist, for when I look for a piece of art to purchase, I don’t care one whit if the artist was classically trained, went to art school or not. However, I would feel less confident if a doctor told me he never went to school but his healing abilities were passed down to him by his great-grandmother.

    In any case, yes, tarot readers are providing a service and they deserve to be compensated for their time and effort. Most readers have spent years studying and practicing and honing their skills. Give them their due.

  2. Hi Sophia,

    I’ve never thought of Readers as artists but I like it 🙂

    Blessings

    Lyn

Leave a Reply

